top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKailyn Robert

Blog #361: Andrew Yang

Candidate Andrew Yang was on campus today, so yet again, Iowa in caucus season has its perks. He gave a speech and took questions, talking a lot about problems and less about real solutions. Of course, his idea for a universal basic income- what he calls the freedom dividend- was a major issue he discussed.


I asked Yang how he planned to actually implement the freedom dividend should he be elected, whether through executive actions or promoting legislation. His answer? The freedom dividend is such a good idea that Democrats will be excited to sponsor it and Republicans will be excited to pass it. That's a pretty optimistic prediction.


Afterward, Yang took photos with attendants, then "met" with a group of students, including me. He seemed uninterested in talking to us, at best. It was all we could do to have him take a photo with all of us.


There were a number of very committed supporters in the crowd, but for my taste, he was too impersonal and, honestly, condescending. He also lacks any clear plans or policies, other than his freedom dividend, which itself is vague and not properly laid out. My analysis may sound harsh, but hey, I call it like I see it.


All that said, it's still awesome for candidates to be here on Morningside's campus, and I appreciate all the work that's done to make that possible for us students. Even though Yang and I don't agree on some things, I still enjoyed being able to meet him and hear him speak. Ah, caucus season!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page