top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKailyn Robert

Blog #358: The Future is Scary

I'm very good at getting caught up in the moment, or at least, in the present situation. My go, go, go mentality serves me well in a lot of ways, but in others, it simply doesn't. In the case of determining post-graduation plans, it's not too helpful.


I talk all the time about needing to figure out what I want to do after I graduate, but I'm not good about actually sitting down and finding opportunities.


When I do finally do this, it's discouraging. I have dream jobs I want, but am totally unqualified for. On the other hand, there are jobs I think are within my skill level, but demand 4+ years of experience. I feel trapped in this search- I can't apply for the "big" jobs, I don't want a job where I don't need my degree (i.e. working at another coffee shop), and there seems to be no in between. How can I gain relevant experience without being hired for a job? How can I be hired without any relevant experience? Why isn't there a medium job available that can be a stepping stone to a big job??


Though I trust that everything will work out- and it will- this is just the hardest time to practice that trust. I feel like I have no options and I'll go nowhere in life. Oddly enough, though, I still have positive feelings toward the whole thing. I'm excited for the change and the new opportunities and whatever will come my way, but I guess sometimes it's just hard to be totally convinced of this.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page