top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKailyn Robert

Blog #347: The End of an Era

For over a decade, my dad has been the mayor of my hometown. He first ran when I was in fourth grade, and even though I was instructed not to tell any of the kids at school, you better believe Courtney and Cassidy got the details of the whole affair while standing in line in our elementary school gymnasium.

Prior to becoming mayor, he served as a city councilman for years, making his Monday night absences due to city council meetings an unquestioned part of the family routine during my childhood. Occasionally I got to go to meetings with him (maybe my parents just couldn't find a babysitter?), and if I remember correctly, I interrupted a meeting once to go up and sit in his lap. I didn't care much about the council's agenda, only my own. Typical.

Growing up as the mayor's daughter had some perks in a small town, but it seemed to carry even more weight as a fun fact later in life when meeting new people (and being forced to participate in 27+ icebreakers at the beginning of each semester). Although, on second thought, I have failed to mention it many times, resulting in friends' shock and utter disbelief that I could hide that information from them. In my defense, he's been mayor for over half of my life- it's just a normal part of my life at this point.

When my dad's latest mayoral term was coming to a close, and he had to make the choice whether or not he would run again, he decided to take the opportunity to step down. With us kids growing up and moving away, my parents aren't sure how much longer they'll be staying in Osage City, so my dad decided it was time to pass the torch.

After convincing a close family friend to run in his place, my dad felt comfortable leaving the position he's held for so many years. For all involved, his departure seemed a bittersweet one, which I believe to be a characteristic of all worthwhile departures. At least for me, the bittersweetness was nearly overwhelming.

I'm excited for the next chapter in my family's life that's going to unfold in a number of different places. After being tied down because of kids in school and work and church and other commitments, this was one of the last ties to be cut for my parents to gain a new freedom to be wherever they wish. I don't know where they'll eventually end up, but I'm happy that they get the chance to make that decision.

At the same time, it's of course a bit sad. At the end of the day, Osage City is my hometown, the place where I first experienced community and grew up a block from my best friend and checked my Grandma's mailbox on Sundays when we were all together for family dinners. It's the home of my childhood homes. And, though it's not a place I want to return to, I have to appreciate it for this, at least.

Both of my parents poured much of their time, energy, and money into making my childhood, and the childhoods of so many others, valuable in Osage City. Through various roles over the past couple of decades, they worked to continually make Osage a better place. Yes that's cliché, and yes I get to say it because my dad was the mayor for over a decade.

I think, in life, we imagine many of our roles to be our titular ones. For my dad, I can only help but imagine that being mayor, at least at times, fit this bill- it's kind of a defining position, after all. Leaving behind such a role, I think naturally, results in feelings of loss and perhaps misdirection. What does one do after two decades of service? How does one define themself?


I'm confident that my father will take this opportunity to not just find new roles, but to strengthen the roles he already plays and to really reflect on how he defines himself in his life. And, no matter what roles he chooses, I'm grateful to know that, at least in my life, his titular role will always be that of my dad. My dad, whom I love and am so proud of.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page